Olympic Lifts Train Baseball Players to be Explosive

When I was in high school and college I was told to avoid several lifts because I was a pitcher. I was often told what not to do and never told what to do by several pitching trainers. This led me to lose confidence in the weight room. Mainly because I began to feel a sense of fear that I may injure my throwing arm.

First of all, I am not a personal trainer and I do not claim to be a fitness expert. Although as a baseball coach, I am constantly looking for new baseball and fitness workouts. Something that has stood out to me is the idea of implementing Olympic lifts into my and my players workouts. These moves require tremendous fast twitch muscles but can also put stress on joints. This stress on your joints from research and my personal experience, is mainly prominent when doing a lot of consecutive reps and with improper form.

While I was in college I went to a speed and strength facility where they taught me the correct way to do some Olympic lifts like the hang clean, RDL, front squat, push press, overhead squat, and others. I noticed a difference shortly after doing my first couple workouts. I also noticed a difference when I stopped doing these exercises.

In the past couple years I have stumbled upon a website called Topvelosity.com and read articles like New workout facility has O’s ahead of the curve by Brittany Ghiroli. These articles and programs have reassured me that other professionals in the baseball community feel the same way about implementing these lifts. I know this is the type of workout plan that will meet a lot of resistance in the MLB because of the history and the value of a players body and arm. But it is interesting to see a team like the Baltimore Orioles implementing this type of workout plan. At the time of this article being written, the Orioles are currently leading the AL East and have the second best record in the entire American League. 

Since Olympic lifts are new to baseball, I have focused my research toward experts in power lifting and promoters of body health. Cory Gregory, owner of Max Effort Muscle, is a source I often use to learn from. Cory provides a lot of free content to his fan base to build up his supplement company and other ventures. He also is known for his squat ever day #Squatlife program. Cory puts up powerful results on a frequent basis. Meaning he must be doing something right with his rep count and organizing his workout plans to be strenuous but still healthy. Watching his content has help me learn a tremendous amount of info.

Another expert who focuses a lot of his experiments on the body is Tim Ferriss. Tim has written several books on business, fitness, and health. You may of heard of them: Tools of Titans, The 4-Hour Workweek, The 4-Hour Body, and The 4-Hour Chef. He loves to collect data from other experts through interviews, experiment their methods on himself, then write how it worked or didn’t work for him. Tim has been an excellent resource for free content to better understand what results can be earned through different lifts and methods. One example of his free content is his podcast. If you have time, be sure to check out The Tim Ferriss Show. His books are also an excellent source of info well worth the cost.

There is tremendous opportunity for athletes to implement these exercises into their workouts before it is a norm. I would also strongly suggest that they work with a professional that knows the correct way to perform these lifts.

 

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

